Home Contact Calendar News Staff
Assessment Overview
In This Section
Assessment Overview
Assessment Overview

Testing Calendar  2015-16 revised 04/11/2016
2015-16 Parent Assessment Refusal Form
Minnesota Department of Education

English Language Proficiency Assessments
Starting in the spring of 2012, tests developed by the WIDA consortium will replace the TEAE and the MN SOLOM in fulfilling the Title III requirement for assessing English language proficiency.   ACCESS for ELLs test items are written from the model performance indicators of WIDA's five English Language Proficiency (ELP) standards:  Social & Instructional Language, Language of Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies and test forms are divided into five grade level clusters (testing grades 1-12).  WIDA

Graduation Assessments
Based on new legislation, enacted in 2015, the graduation assessment requirements have changed. Please refer to the Minnesota Department of Education Tests page available under Related MDE Resources on the right. The Graduation Assessment Requirements and the  Parent Fact Sheets are on the MDE Webpage. FAQ 2015 Legislative Assessment Changes.

Please visit the Minnesota Department of Education  website.

Grade 1 Assessment 
Starting 2013-14 school year grade 1 students will take the MAP for Primary Grades assessments (MPG).  (See below Northwest Evaluation Association.)

Kindergarten Assessment 
The COM assessment measures nine components of number sense.  The assessment takes 30 minutes per student.

Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment (MCA)
The primary purpose of the MCA is to measure the success of instruction based on the Minnesota Academic Standards .  Assessment results can be used to determine whether all students are mastering key content knowledge and attaining the skills necessary for future success in education adn teh workforce.  MCA; MDE Interpretive Guide 2014 -15 (pdf) MCA Parent Fact Sheet ( pdf rev: 12/2014)

Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS)
MTAS is a performance-based assessment in reading, mathematics and science for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. It is the alternate assessment available in every grade in which the MCA-II is available and features substantial reductions in the complexity of the academic content standards.  MTAS; Questions and Answers (pdf rev: 12/2014)

Northwest Evaluation Association (NWEA/MAP - Measures of Academic Progress)
State aligned computerized adaptive tests in reading and math that reflect the instructional level of each student in grades 1-9. It measures growth over time in addition to performance. For additional information on this assessment go to: www.nwea.org
    Map for Primary Grades - MPG Assessment Content (pdf) 11/2013
   Summary of Recomendation Process (pdf) 11/2013

Optional Local Purpose Assessment (OLPA) - Mathematics and Reading
OLPA is available for students in grades 3-8 and 11 Math; grades 3-8 and 10 Reading.  It provides a risk-free environment for students to familiarize themselves with online testing and provides teachers with information to target instruction before the mathematics test used for accountability in the spring. Every time a student answers a question, her or his response helps to determine the next question that the student must answer.  This testing method provides a more precise measure of students' skills and knowledge.   

Preschool Screening
The Minneapolis Preschool Screening Instrument Revised (MPSI-R) is designed to measure educationally related developmental skills of children in the age range of three years to five years 11 months. The major areas of functioning measured by the MPSIR include cognitive, language, literacy, motor and perceptual development. The MPSIR also includes a social emotional functioning subtest. For more information, contact Mary Pickart, 612-730-7150, Early  Childhood Education Department.